Upon Waking, I Realize I’m Done

I cannot do it anymore. Really. 4.5 years (5 if you count the sick, tumultuous pregnancy) of worry. Unremitting worry over Josh’s health. I just cannot live this way anymore. And, in any event, this is not really living.

I was listening to an online program today where the speaker talked about his mid-life exhaustion working at a nonprofit. He said, when exhausted, one just starts to work faster and faster, and you become unable to relate to anyone who doesn’t vibrate at your same frenzied pace. He said that the ultimate humiliation was when he walked into a meeting and asked where “Jim” (his own name) was. At that moment, he realized he was completely tapped out; completely exhausted. That night, he got together to read poetry with his friend, a benedictine monk (yes, I know–a quite different level of exhaustion than the one I am encountering) and he asked the monk what he could do about his exhaustion. The monk said to him:

The remedy to exhaustion is not always rest. Often the remedy to exhaustion is wholeheartedness.

And this quote spoke to me so deeply. When I am running around worrying about Josh’s lack of growth, the color of Josh’s feces, the IgA levels in his blood, his ear drainage, the potential of metal toxicity from his sliver crowns and titanium ear rod, I am not living wholeheartedly; as a mother or as a person. It is as if I won’t let myself really enter this life of mine as long as there are outstanding health issues with Josh. But, in 4.5 years, there has never not been any outstanding health issues.

In the end, Josh’s blood tests came back “normal,” however, our OT and pediatrician talked on the phone and I left J’s OT’s office with a whole bunch of literature on the food pyramid and the correct amount of serving sizes for a 4-5 year old. It was really really a slap in the face. I still love our OT, but I have the feeling that she is not right on this one. She knows that I know far more about nutrition than most moms and yet, I left the office with this literature? Was it our pediatrician or our OT or both. It reminds me a bit of the time that our genetic doctor told us to just put “noodles and butter” in front of Josh and he’d eat. Insulting at a time when he’d only eat vanilla yogurt and cheerios. Ironic though now because Josh would exist on macaroni and cheese if I let him. But, he had to come to the discovery of macaroni and cheese in his own time. No amount of prodding would have gotten Josh to accept noodles and butter back at age 16 months, when we got this comment from the genetic doctor. And with this literature, the OT suggested that I show Josh the food pyramid to try to get him to incorporate more foods into his diet. But she is well aware that Josh enjoys human anatomy books and science books. I have to tell him he is only allowed one science book a day because I like to read stories. Anyway, Josh has been looking at the food pyramid since he was 2.5 and it hasn’t done a bit of good. He knows that meat is supposed to be healthy for him but it doesn’t allow him to tolerate it.

But last night, I was feeling the pressure and feeling “judged” as a parent and so Josh and I had a stand-off about the grass-fed bison crumbles on his plate. In the end, Josh left the dinner table without eating any food, even his “go to” food–which, last night, was a cheese tortilla. Then, he couldn’t fall asleep because his anxiety was through the roof (and likely he was hungry). In fact, his baseline anxiety level has been off the charts for the past two or so months and now that I think about it, this uptick coincides with the point at which his OT started pushing him heavily on meats.

Chris and I both awoke this morning with the same thought–that is; this is more of an anxiety issue than a food issue. And even if it isn’t, we are turning it into an anxiety issue. And being all anxious about his health is certainly modeling anxiety for him, even if he was born with some innate baseline anxiety. And whose to say that the congenitally high anxiety is not from the overly anxious pregnancy, with me sick and unable to eat (now I am convinced that was just Josh’s genetic code inside me already expressing it’s extreme food selectivity issues) and numerous bleeding episodes. Whatever it’s from, Josh is using his food preferences to provide something calm and predictable in his world. He likes to have strawberry kefir with a black straw, purple Cliff Z bars in a purple bowl, a pink probiotic pill with 8-9 macadamia nuts in a separate bowl and has now added in cheerios in a third bowl each morning before school. He likes macaroni and cheese at night, every night. And when he doesn’t get his mac and cheese, his world is turned upside down and he has difficulty going to sleep (sometimes a cheese tortilla will suffice).

And you know what? I am not a bad mother for providing these staples. I am a mother doing the best I can (the new tagline on my blog). I am from Minnesota, the state of Garrison Keillor, so maybe I can just say I am a “Pretty Good” mother. And that is going to have to be good enough. Moreover, I am a mother who raised two “normal” eaters, who ate everything without any need for negotiation. Ever. And so I know that Josh’s issues have little or nothing to do with my parenting. At least not until I received the food guidelines from our OT and I became all self-conscious.

I am a firm believer that you find what you need, when you need it. Thank God I found the blog mealtimehostage.wordpress.com this morning. In particular, Chris and I both read this entry about manipulation and about cried. We (really me) were being manipulative with Josh last night. And it felt so wrong.

I am done. At this moment, I do not know all that this entails, but it does mean that, going forward, I am on a mission to be as wholehearted as a parent as possible to Josh.

IMG_1264

4 comments
  1. It makes me sad to hear when moms are desperate for support, and turned away with more guilt. :( Like that doesn’t already come with the job.
    I’m really enjoying your blog and hope that the few simple tweaks you can easily make to what you’re already doing will turn mealtimes around for Josh. Send me a message through my Facebook page (Mealtime Hostage) if you need some feeding support. Here in the feeding trenches, we’re all in this together. xx

  2. Sarah said:

    Oh Heidi, I’ve read your last couple of posts and my heart is so for you. You are a more than pretty good parent. It is clear that you love Josh with all of your heart! How many children in this world do not have that!! I pray that you would have peace and joy and confidence in this journey. Josh is indeed blessed to have you as his momma!

    • hmfhp said:

      Thank you Sarah. That means tons coming from you because I view you as near Super Momma status! I fear I haven’t nearly the mental fortitude, strength and faith as you have to lend to the mothering journey. But I am doing my best. Thanks for your support.

  3. Sarah said:

    Ha! Not even close to Super Momma! But I sure want to support you in any way that I can. Please let me know if there is anything at all that I can do…wish we lived closer!

Leave a Reply

shellybombblog

Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh Shelly Bomb!

Minnesota Prairie Roots

Writing and photography by Audrey Kletscher Helbling

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

Live to Write - Write to Live

Professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

My Meditation Challenge

A Path in Spirituality

healfromcopper

Just another WordPress.com site

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

HEATHER KOPP

On the path of grace in my sober boots

Mothering the Best I Can Today

Our un(convent)ional life

Mothering the Best I Can Today

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

http://www.amazon.com/author/deanjbaker - SALE -Check links under WELCOME here for the books

Jnana's Red Barn

A Space for Work and Reflection

Otrazhenie

Reflection

turkeyboneheaven

Survivor of Child Abuse - Member in Recovery

Kate's Apartmentsteading

Green Living in Maine

Emma's Hope Book

Autism, Parenting and Being

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Bad Parenting 101

Being a grown up is a mixed bag.

Flowering of eternity

...seen through the eyes of the soul

Yoga Teachings

A Collection of Thoughts Gathered on the Yoga Journey

born by a river

the river delights to lift us free, if only we dare let go- R. Bach

Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

rawkinwellness

Inspiration for choosing a holistic life from which radiates love, honesty, freedom and awareness

The Energy of X

so strong that he can lift a hundred men in one of his hands, so tall that his head almost touches the clouds, and his voice as loud as thunder can be heard for miles around

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

