Postpartum Woes

Just checking in from the home of leaky, engorged breasts, blood clots, excessive bleeding, and now, a breast infection with a 101 degree temp. I know some people are anxious to meet Josh, but I am still running around in my pjs every day; avoiding bras because they contribute to my plugged ducts. I unfortunately overproduce milk, which makes it difficult for both me and baby–at least until my babies get big enough to handle my flow.

I warned Chris before Josh was born that I typically have a 10 month of pregnancy added on to my 9 months. It is no less so this time around. Hopefully, I will emerge from my cocoon around the 4 week point, so please be patient. I’ve recently learned that in some areas of Japan, a

Sleeping peacefully

Sleeping peacefully

woman is sent to bed for the first six weeks postpartum. Her relatives come in to take care of the baby. The baby is only brought to her to feed. I have read that, in some areas, they even talk to the woman as if she too were an infant. I know that some people just glide through this postpartum time, but I never have. I will hopefully be back online both here and in the real world, in a few weeks.

(Also, any free moments I get each day are spent grading papers–so that is adding an extra challenge and wrinkle to this postpartum period).

4 comments
  1. Wow–you are dealing with a lot of challenges right now! Of course we are looking forward to seeing you and meeting your beautiful new son. But we will wait patiently until you are feeling better and ready to have visitors, whenever that may be. 🙂

  2. motherimperfect said:

    Thanks Julie. I always struggle these first 4-6 weeks. I thought maybe I’d escape it as I am older now, but it mostly has to do with my overloaded breasts. I really should be nursing triplets or sending all of this extra milk off to a NICU ward or something. Anyway, usually about the time my uterus finally returns to its rightful spot in my lower abdomen (around 5-6 weeks), things get better. This class is also really wiping me out. I didn’t really think about how hard it would be to be grading long papers. So instead of naping when Josh is naping, I am grading papers. Makes for a crabby mommy.

  3. christy said:

    Your little guy is sooooo adorable! I’m sorry you’re having a crummy postpartum. No fun to have overloaded breasts. 😦 And so sorry that you have to spend your spare time grading papers. Maybe you can try to nap during most of Josh’s naps, and work during one. 🙂

    I can relate a little to not wanting to see anyone for awhile. I think I holed up for a full month before even leaving the house after Simon was born. Of course, it was January, so it made it a little easier!

    FYI – I start at West Oct 5, so I’ll probably meet your big guy before I meet your little guy. But I hope to meet your little guy soon!

    Christy

  4. Shari said:

    Hello Heidi:
    I remember your post birth troubles! You have the worst luck with breast infections of any one I have ever known! I really feel bad! I was an over producer of milk, but never had the problem with the infections! You certainly don’t deserve to be so sick on top of tired and responsible for so much! What a great experience for Chris! You take care of yourself and those infections! I love you and cannot wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

Reclaiming Beautiful

Reclaiming the beauty in anything and everything

thatgirlArlene

| Fashion ⚫️ Travel ⚫️ Beauty |

Marauder

Literary Journal

the roll top desk

daily prompts and activities for writers, writing teachers, and students

Weird City

a literary magazine

Lightning Droplets

Little flecks of inspiration and creativity

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

Veracious Poet

~ Self Realization

Sara in LaLaLand

Welcome to my world.

Panida

Life & Endometriosis

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creating a Collaborative Anthology

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

