The Blessings of My Children

I am sitting on the couch right now, sun streaming in the windows and an almost eight-week old baby sleeping next to me. It is so lovely to have sun. Our house is particularly designed to maximize the morning sun. From where I am sitting, I can see out about five different windows. I am feeling blessed right now. I was holding Joshua this morning in the rocking chair. He fell asleep while I was listening to the soundtrack from Spring Awakening (reminds me of Hannah) and rocking, while drinking green jasmine tea (yeah, I can drink it again–it tasted terrible to me all throughout my pregnancy, so I didn’t drink any and supposedly green tea is not good for a pregnant woman–blocks folic acid absorption or something like that). As Joshua slept heavily against my body, I realized that he is no burden. He is pure blessing. I am so grateful for Joshua. He has interrupted the hectic pace and passing of my life. He has given me pause to sit here in my living room on my couch in the morning sunlight.

Each child brings different gifts. Hannah has brought Broadway shows into my life. And Irish Dancing. And Celtic Music. And now, all of this knowledge about exchange programs. She’s also helped spur me towards many grand trips to New York City. The strength of a mother/daughter tie provides an amazing and constant love, support, and encouragement. Now I know how it is to love someone so deeply who is halfway around the world. She also keeps me young, at least from a fashion stand point. I cannot wait for Hannah and Joshua to meet. I know that they will love each other so very much. I know that Hannah already loves Joshua deeply. Here is a picture of Joshua planning a trip to Japan.

Hannah, I want to come visit you!

Ethan has also brought so much into my life. I’ve learned so much more about gymnastics through him. And I’ve renewed my interest in the NBA and can now name the Celtic’s starting lineup (probably much of their bench too). I’ve discovered so much new music through Ethan. He exposed me to the wonderful tunes and artistry of Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix. He has shown me that there are other ways to “do school” than my “get A’s at all expense” approach. He has shown me what it is to be laid back and how much better life can be when you just let go. He delights me when he talks because it is so rare. He is a little like Yoda–when Ethan speaks, you want to listen. It is usually something good. And his dry humor is really something else.

Ethan was holding Josh last night while I cooked his dinner. Josh took that opportunity to have a nice poop, which leaked through onto Ethan’s shirt. Ethan was distressed but patient with me until I could get there and pick up Josh to be changed. He is a good older brother.

Ethan and Josh in my chair

For now, Josh brings me sunlit mornings in my own home (as opposed to a cold, windowless office in staid corporate office, USA). And these fabulous toothless smiles. And cute little stylish brown outfits (even if my mom says, “You can’t put a baby in brown!”). And the opportunity to rediscover my body through yoga after a very long pregnancy. And the wonder of watching his father hold him, sway to music, and tear up–making me too realize what an amazing and awesome thing this life is.

Children are a blessing.

3 comments
  1. Leah said:

    I love mornings with fuzzy headed boys and the giggles over all things silly. Kids are definitely a blessing!

    And I love brown on boys (Nolan has a lot of brown-and-blue outfits)- I think brown is definitely OK on a baby, lol!

  2. I am finally starting to catch up on a little blog reading. I’m sorry that Josh didn’t pass his most recent hearing test, but I am happy to hear about all the peace, joy, love, and sunshine in your life!

Leave a Reply

Reclaiming Beautiful

Reclaiming the beauty in anything and everything

thatgirlArlene

| Fashion ⚫️ Travel ⚫️ Beauty |

Marauder

Literary Journal

the roll top desk

daily prompts and activities for writers, writing teachers, and students

Weird City

a literary magazine

Lightning Droplets

Little flecks of inspiration and creativity

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

Veracious Poet

~ Self Realization

Sara in LaLaLand

Welcome to my world.

Panida

Life & Endometriosis

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creating a Collaborative Anthology

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

