Flowers for all of the Mothers

It has been a rough past few days, with the stomach flu going through our house. It began with Joshua on Wednesday night into Thursday (and peaks of it on Friday) and Chris had it awful on Friday and Saturday. I had a more mild round of it last night into today. Ethan is still standing strong–but I think that Ethan is hoping someone will start cooking again in this household before too long–no one but Ethan has wanted food for a couple of days. Anyway, it is likely Josh picked the bug up in the ER last week.

Somehow though, Ethan and Chris managed to get out late last night to buy me flowers. Chris organized them nicely in one long-stem vase, but I broke them up so that they’d last longer. I broke them up into three batches and each vase of flowers reminds of me of one of my children.

The beautiful spray of pink baby roses (is that what they’re called?) reminds me of Hannah. Because they are both strong and delicate at the same time. The rose are also beautiful in their complexity, which also describes Hannah. Hannah is sort of like the weather in Portland, Oregon. In any given day, about ten different moods may blow through–just like the weather can constantly change in Portland; pouring rain one moment to brilliant sun the next. And finally, I must mention that Hannah also has the tiniest little rose bud ears, like delicate petals. They are amazingly small but work very effectively. Okay, they are just downright cute–and I noticed them again when we were skyping the other day. She said people in Japan (and here at home, for the matter) are always commenting on her tiny ears. I wish I had a picture that would capture them. I don’t right now, but I do have a picture of my pink bud roses.

These two long stem roses remind me of Ethan (I left his “junk” in the background of this photo–to remind me someday when Ethan has moved out and I no longer find his stuff around the house). He seems very simple, on the outside. Perhaps because he is so quiet. But he is always listening and soaking in the vibes around him. Every day, he’ll surprise Chris and I with one of his mature comments or with some sly and a wee-bit sarcastic, humor. And he is tall, ever so tall. Almost 5 feet 11 now–easily pushing 6 feet. He doesn’t require much fussing–just some good food (his food) for nourishment and exercise and some gentle prodding to do his homework. Ethan always asks me if I am going to the grocery store each weekend, as if I would forget. It is important to Ethan that we always have milk, Orange Juice, yogurt and shredded wheat. If we have those few items, he can fend for himself pretty nicely.

And then dear little Josh. He reminds me of this beautiful bouquet of wild flowers, some freshly cut this morning from our backyard. Josh may be a little more wild right now, and require a little more love and attention (and lots of breast milk for that matter!) to keep growing–but he fills my days with such color and joy. While I am enjoying his little baby self now (almost a toddler self as he cruises the furniture), I am also looking forward to having him run around in the yard next summer, so that I might garden more fully again. And take him for long walks in the woods and start to see the ways that he shines, the things he likes and finds important in his world. For now, it is clear he likes books and will always sit still if I read to him.

I am so grateful for my three children. I have been blessed many times over.

Leave a Reply

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creative Writing Ideas And Writing Prompts

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Josep Goded

Seeking Truth

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

ndquarterly.wordpress.com/

North Dakota Quarterly

Creative Talents Unleashed

"Unleash your creative talents and share them with the world!" ~ Raja's Insight

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

For What They're Worth

Thoughts on life, past and present. Good for me to write. May they also be good for you to read.

Finding Our Way Home

A Spiritual Journey Into Earth Community

Logical Quotes

Mothering the Best I Can Today

