Rain on the Roof

I awoke at 5:00 am this morning with a few thoughts in my head. The first thought was that Josh was sleeping peacefully, free of his hearing aids (hearing aids are not worn at bedtime or naps–maybe this is obvious, but it was something I had to be told). I then scolded myself for thinking that way . . . “free of those things.” I told myself that I needed to begin to view these more positively so that Josh will accept them and view them positively. Okay, I said, I’ll get there in time. But not this morning, because you see, I am grieving, once again, the absence of “normal” hearing for Josh.

The hearing aid “kit” (more like a suitcase), came with this stethoscope -type of thing that you use to listen to the hearing aids each day so that you can apprehend any crackling or other issues. When I listened to the aids for the first time yesterday, I realized that they don’t produce “normal” hearing–the type that you and I enjoy. Instead, Josh’s sound will come to him as if he were at a school assembly and there is a mini-PA system in his ear. And I guess, it really is sort of a mini-PA system. It still makes me sad today. As I mentioned in one of my earlier posts, hearing aids don’t “correct” one’s hearing, as eye glasses can correct one’s vision. They amplify, but they don’t make perfect.

And then I realized it was raining outside. And I listened to one of my favorite sounds–the sound of rain on the roof. It always makes me feel safe and secure in my home. But not this morning. I realized that with Josh sleeping unaided, he will never wake up to the sound of rain on the roof while lying in his bed. I realized that tears were coming down my eyes. I realized that I was really grieving. And I thought I’d share it here because maybe, two years from now, someone who’s baby has just received hearing aids that day may read this blog and will grieve with me and will feel the community that I feel when I read the blogs of other parents who have been through this journey. (It’s funny, more than any other place, a blog seems to exist simultaneously in both past, present, and future–but that is a story for another day).

When I first learned of Joshua’s “potential” hearing loss (and it was just “potential” for about 7.5 months–hence the relatively late acquisition of aids for hearing loss that was identified at 2 days old through early intervention), I read a bit about how controversial cochlear implants are–not with the parents, necessarily, but with members of the Deaf culture who communicate predominantly with ASL. Many do not believe that parents should make that decision for their deaf children, I guess forcing them to exist in a oral language world. I didn’t really understand the controversy. I just thought, “of course a parent would want to choose that for his or her child.”  To me, it seems like you would want your child to be able to communicate with everyone around him. At that same time, we didn’t yet know the extent of Josh’s hearing loss (and perhaps we still don’t–not yet knowing whether it is progressive). Also at that time, my daughter was living in Japan, not knowing the language spoken around her. It was so difficult for her and only became less difficult after the Japanese language descended (somewhere around January). I wouldn’t want my son to feel always like he was living in Japan, only able to communicate with those few people who spoke English (ASL in his case).

Today, however, for the first time I understand the controversy a bit more. I can see where it might be more peaceful to be in a world without sound rather than having sound come to you through a speaker. I’ve never heard what the sound that comes through a cochlear implant is like. I do understand it also is not like the true sound we hear–perhaps even more so than with a hearing aid.

In spite of my grief and these realizations, I will put Josh’s hearing aids in this morning when he wakes up and I will begin the road to having Josh exist in this spoken-language world that he lives in, just as all able-hearing babies must do. And I know, I will be grateful for these amplification devices at some point (probably when Josh says his first word). But for now, I am going to sit here and quietly grieve as I listen to the beautiful “dibble dibble dop” (here is my Dr. Seuss reference for the day) of rain on the roof, allowing for the sadness and pulling it around me like a comforting quilt. Allowing it to be all mine, for the moment. And yours, if you find this blog entry somewhere in the future and you know where I am at. You then, are welcome to share this quilt with me. We’ll grieve together. And then we’ll get up and move along and do what we need to do for our children.

4 comments
  1. Oh, I remember those early days with hearing aids- listening with the stethoset and hearing the “tinny” sound and weeping because I knew my little boy would never hear the world in the same way I do. Listening to water lap the shore at the lake, knowing that he couldn’t hear it.

    It does get better. For one thing, Nolan hasn’t “lost” anything- he doesn’t grieve because his limited hearing is the only hearing he’s ever had. We grieve because we know what might have been, but he certainly doesn’t grieve. In fact, he demands his “earring aids” every day- he LOVES the sound they provide (even if it sounds “off” to me).

    Grief is a funny creature, though, and it comes back unbidden at certain times. Like when his brother tries to wake him to hear rolling thunder..that he can’t hear. And the full weight of it comes back and rests on me.

    This life can be a rollercoaster- the dips are awfully hard, but the highs are better than anything you could imagine. Trust me, the first time Josh looks at you and says, “Mama, I wuv you,” you will feel a thrill greater than anything in the world.

    Here’s to lots of “dibble dibble dop” in the daytime hours, so that Josh can hear the rain fall for the first time!

    • motherimperfect said:

      Once again, Leah, thanks for your support and your beautiful words. And we had plenty of dibble dibble dop yesterday (and tears too). I think today will be better.

  2. Julie said:

    My son, Tate, didn’t get HA’s until he was 3 1/2. It took awhile for him to get used to them. He must have felt assaulted by all the noise! But those were precious times.

    I remember his face lighting up with understanding the first time he heard the rain falling. And I remember him telling me happily, that now he could hear me whispering, “I love you”. He absolutely loved (still does) his “Hearry Maids”, though he only has one now.

    I grieve, too, that my son won’t hear what I hear. He doesn’t hear quiet things any more. He has no “ear” for music. No whispers. His loss is progressive – now deaf in one ear and moderate-to-severe in his “good” ear.

    But he amazes me.

    He is resilient and funny. He perseveres to understand what he hears. And he never complains about it all. Only once did he seem kind of sad, and ask me why God allowed him to have hearing loss.

    I do grieve for him too. But I rejoice at how well he does.

    And… sharing a room with his two brothers… he kind of likes the silence at night 🙂

    Your son will soar.

    Julie

    • motherimperfect said:

      Thank you Julie, I really needed to hear this message this morning. You’ve blessed me immensely. Might I link to your blog from mine?

      Blessings,

      Heidi

Leave a Reply

Reclaiming Beautiful

Reclaiming the beauty in anything and everything

thatgirlArlene

| Fashion ⚫️ Travel ⚫️ Beauty |

Marauder

Literary Journal

the roll top desk

daily prompts and activities for writers, writing teachers, and students

Weird City

a literary magazine

Lightning Droplets

Little flecks of inspiration and creativity

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

Veracious Poet

~ Self Realization

Sara in LaLaLand

Welcome to my world.

Panida

Life & Endometriosis

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creating a Collaborative Anthology

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

