How to Clothe Myself and My Babe After Bed Bug Scare

Since retiring from the world of smart suits and smart salaries, almost two years back, I have been extremely reluctant to purchase new clothing for myself or for Josh (he doesn’t care about brands yet!). Indeed, the bulk of our clothing has been second-hand, mostly from the Goodwill and second-hand kid stores. I get the sense that my husband has quietly resigned himself to my need to purchase everything second-hand. I even get Josh’s books from the Goodwill. Once home, they are easily polished up with a bit of environmentally friendly spray cleaner and a recycled rag. After a summer in which 9-12 month old Josh wore a rotation of about 5-6 different second-hand onesies, I noted to my husband that I wasn’t really into dressing Josh in cute, expensive outfits. He said, “Yeah, I kind of got that.” So, when this whole bed bug thing came up and we had researched how easily these bugs are hoping from bed to bed (or house to house), he said to me, “I think this means you cannot keep buying second-hand clothing.” Hmmmm. Hmmmm. Oh gosh, he might be right. Whatever am I to do? I so like buying recycled clothing and I’ve even been stockpiling some items in hopes of creating an “upcycling business” someday (see Etsy.com if you don’t yet know what upcycling is all about). I cannot, however, even sew on a button and so, the likelihood of this actually happening is similar to the time I purchased sixty dollars worth of oil paints, planning to paint a mural on my ceiling in the spirit of Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel. I purchased the paint in the spring of 1998 and I still haven’t used it. I am pretty sure I donated it all to the Goodwill at least four years ago. I am also a great supplier of the Goodwill because I actually hate clutter. In fact, I got rid of all of my work clothes last spring. I am now realizing that my winter wardrobe consisted almost entirely of work clothing, as I have been wearing the same two pair of pants all winter (I tend to not be able to find pants short enough for me at the Goodwill and because I cannot hem, well . . . you know it might just be too expensive to buy pants at the Goodwill). So, sometimes I over throw away (yes, dear husband, if you read this–I acknowledge that I do sometimes over throw away–and so you do have reason to question my sometimes over zealous encouragement of your own wardrobe downsizing project, which I know you mostly engage in because you love me so much). Today, I drove past a Goodwill, that I’ve never before visited, when I was bringing the car in for service. I looked longingly at the square, concrete building where treasures might have been waiting for me. But I drove on past without stopping. What am I to do? This bed bug scare is ruining my fashion plan (or lack thereof–an aside, yesterday, Hannah acknowledged that I had been a “hipster” in my thirties and she wished I still was one–so I guess that means I am decidedly no longer hipster material). In an effort to find something different to wear today, I managed to locate a beloved flannel shirt in the back of my closet, which I purchased in 1993, when I was 22. I turn 41 this year and I still think of this shirt as being pretty new, although it is missing three buttons (lost a third just today) and I don’t know how to sew the buttons back on. Does anyone out there, who is most certainly bed-bug free, have some clothing they’d like to get rid of? I really, really like hand-me-downs.

A photo of me at 34, back when I was still a hipster

Leave a Reply

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creative Writing Ideas And Writing Prompts

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Josep Goded

Seeking Truth

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

ndquarterly.wordpress.com/

North Dakota Quarterly

Creative Talents Unleashed

"Unleash your creative talents and share them with the world!" ~ Raja's Insight

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

For What They're Worth

Thoughts on life, past and present. Good for me to write. May they also be good for you to read.

Finding Our Way Home

A Spiritual Journey Into Earth Community

Logical Quotes

Mothering the Best I Can Today

