Farewell Melinda

At 8:30 this morning my former mother-in-law and grandmother of my two older children passed away. In fact, she really always remained my mother-in-law. We didn’t get divorced just because her son and I divorced. Melinda was just sixty-nine years old. She fought and won a battle with breast cancer in her mid-fifties. The chemotherapy, however, caused damage to her heart. She struggled with many heart issues over the past few years, but had a heart pump installed last year at the Mayo Clinic which seemed to help. In recent weeks, she was diagnosed with both liver and pancreatic cancer. I last spoke to her last Sunday when she called me to make sure that the kids were taking the news okay. I told her that I was going to try to get the kids up to see her over spring break. She told me that she hoped she’d at least have some of the summer still. I guess none of that was to be. I do think, however, that she still went peacefully and with acceptance for her coming death. She was a very courageous woman, even when facing death.

Melinda was a wonderful grandmother and at every turn, one of my biggest supporters. My daughter was her first grandchild, born while I was in law school and living in the same town as my in-laws. Although Melinda still had her youngest child at home, I believe “Uncle Ben” was about 12 when Hannah was born, she took care of Hannah during the day during my first semester back at law school. Now that I have two teens  and a baby at home, I realize that it was no easy feat for her to juggle a pre-teen and a baby. Melinda is partly to thank for my going back and finishing my law degree, even though she always really thought I should have stuck with my visual arts dreams (and as of late, I realize that she was probably right on that account). In the seven years I spent single after my divorce, Melinda helped me many times, always willing to come down to my home (five plus hours south of her house) to take care of my kids during my week-long business trips, which were necessary in my career as an acquisition editor and then publisher for an academic publishing imprint. Melinda didn’t just “stay” with my kids during this time. She fearlessly drove them around this traffic-laden metropolitan area to irish dance class, gymnastics, and guitar lessons, sometimes all in the same night.  She was able to balance the chaos sometimes better than I could. At the same time, she always told me how proud she was of me and my career. Even more so, she always told me that I was a wonderful mother and that she admired my parenting skills. I don’t think that anyone else in my life gave me such positive feedback and support, particularly during those hard years as a single mom. She didn’t abandon me after the divorce, but got in my corner and backed me even more. For this, I’ll always be grateful.

This morning, after I received the news of Melinda’s passing, I was in the shower wondering what Melinda might be doing. Melinda was always an outgoing person, in contrast to my extremely introverted nature. Once while accompanying me on a trip to my local suburban grocery store, Melinda got to know about five new people before we even arrived at the check out lane. By the time we reached my car, I was certain that she knew more people in the city where I lived than I had met after living there two years. She also would get to know the other Irish Dance parents or the other parents at the St. Paul Conservatory of Music, where my daughter took classical guitar. She would tell me all about those parents when I returned home from my trips. In fact, that is how I ended up becoming friends with some of the other parents who had kids in activities with my kids. So, this morning, when I thought about what Melinda was doing, I thought, well, she’s certainly already met up with those who have gone before; her mom and dad and sisters. Right about now, she is probably already meeting some new folks, with a smile on her face. She is likely not spending anytime thinking “why am I here?” or “what have I left behind?” but is soaking up the amazing joy and love abounding in the new and better place, making herself right at home. And when I get to this place, whenever my time comes, I will be comforted to know that she will be waiting there for me, already ready to introduce me to all of the friends she’s made.

Farewell Melinda. I will miss you, but I know we’ll meet again.

2 comments
  1. Maria Morales said:

    I’m sorry for your loss and the children’s loss. I’m sure she thinks of you in the same light that you see her. I admire the way you have seen her despite the fact that you and her son have divorced. I have been thinking of you after my trip in Chicago and now find myself wondering if it was so I can be heartfelt in my sadness for you. You’re in my thoughts and prayers. I dread the time I have to say goodbye to one of my parents.
    Maria~~

    • motherimperfect said:

      Hi Maria,

      I appreciate all of those good thoughts and prayers. I am sure they helped. It was so strange to drive up 94, back to Grand Forks. I haven’t been there for years (my parents moved away in 1993). It brought back so many memories; good and painful. I wondered how much of my past I leave behind everyday because I don’t live amidst the landscape of my youth. A sense of place is a funny thing. For the first time, it occurred to me that perhaps all of us are without grounding, when we live far from where we were raised. Anyway, always good to hear from someone, like you, out of my past.

Leave a Reply

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creative Writing Ideas And Writing Prompts

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Josep Goded

Seeking Truth

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

ndquarterly.wordpress.com/

North Dakota Quarterly

Creative Talents Unleashed

"Unleash your creative talents and share them with the world!" ~ Raja's Insight

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

For What They're Worth

Thoughts on life, past and present. Good for me to write. May they also be good for you to read.

Finding Our Way Home

A Spiritual Journey Into Earth Community

Logical Quotes

Mothering the Best I Can Today

