Prom–A Teen Rite of Passage?

Hannah and I are having a debate of sorts. I strangely worry that her life will somehow be incomplete if she never attends a prom. I guess I’ve watched one too many John Hughes movies one too many times. Anyway, the funny thing is, what I remember most about prom was that I wasn’t asked to attend my sophomore year. I went my junior and senior year but I cannot remember a thing about them–good or bad.  I have a hunch that I didn’t have a particularly good time attending prom but do not remember why. (I think I probably fought with my boyfriend during prom–see below).

Hannah tells me there isn’t even anyone she’d really want to go to prom with. She ascribes to the theory presented by one of her teachers, who told the kids that prom was a ridiculous notion of our affluent society. He said that today’s kids spend around $1,000 attending prom (dress, tux, dinner, tickets, renting limo or party bus) and the kids who aren’t in a relationship typically end up attending prom with someone they don’t even really like. Those in a relationship tend to spend prom fighting. Over the years, he has asked students to comment on their enjoyment of prom and indeed, not many have enjoyed it all that much. Hannah observed this theory to be true with her winter formal dance, which she did attend. It was a whole lot of money for very little payback in terms of pleasure. The teacher mentioned above also told the kids that this same amount of money could support numerous families in Africa for a year (did I mention that this class is an ethics/religion/english class all wrapped into one?).

I told Hannah that perhaps she should host an anti-prom fundraising party at our house instead. Not sure that would fly with her friends. Perhaps, like me, we are mostly ingrained to think of Prom as an essential rite of passage. I see further evidence of this by the fact that more parents on Facebook post pictures of their children attending prom than they post even of graduation.

So my question to you reader is whether you think prom is an essential teen rite of passage? Did you attend prom? Do you remember enjoying it? Did it make your life complete? Did you think about the amount of money you spent on the whole event?

When I think about it, the things most worth spending lots of money on have been live concert events. One year, when I was in the front row at Alpine Valley, seeing the Black Crowes and the Dave Matthews Band, I thought, “yes, money can really buy pleasure–but only in this limited circumstance and only for this short amount of time.” I do remember the many great concerts I’ve attended through the years.

Okay, so I’m there. I will no longer give any thought to whether Hannah attends prom. And when everyone is posting pictures of their children attending prom on Facebook, perhaps I will post pictures of Hannah volunteering at Lifeworks, where she has been volunteering with the developmentally disabled this past year. Perhaps volunteering should be the new teen rite of passage.

3 comments
  1. Well I went to my Junior and Senior prom with the guy who is now my husband, to be honest he was my husband during my senior prom. I enjoyed myself but prom isn’t the big deal around here, post prom is. Post prom is a party the junior parents throw to keep the kids at the school so we didn’t go out drinking (we saved that for 5 am). The parents had fundraisers all year to pay for prizes we would win all night long. These were great prizes, tvs, vcrs, microwaves, gift certificates that were donated by local businesses. Now 14 years later they take a bus and go bowling or go to laser tag. They still give out prizes but with a long bus ride everyone is pretty sleepy but the time they get back so there is now longer that 5 am party. If there is a winter formal, what is the major difference from prom. She seems like a bright kid, let her make her choice.

  2. Julie Coleman said:

    I think John Hughes really did a number on us, because my first reaction was, “She has to go to prom!” But of course she doesn’t. Plenty of people don’t go, and they’re just fine. My first date with Bernie was our junior prom. We had a great time, but I wouldn’t recommend it as a first date! We went again senior year, and I remember not having nearly as much fun. Both times, we went bowling afterward with friends, and I suppose we got dinner beforehand. I feel like it wasn’t nearly as pricey then as it is now. If Hannah feels like she’d be missing out on something, then maybe she should go. Otherwise, doing an alternate fundraiser seems like a really cool idea!

  3. motherimperfect said:

    @Cornfield mom
    They do have that sort of event after Hannah’s graduation ceremony–a party at the school where they have prizes and stuff (and they keep them there until 5 am too!), so she’ll have that experience even if she doesn’t attend prom. And I would never make her attend. Our debate has more gone like this: I ask her what she’d do if a boy she doesn’t really like asks her to prom and she says she’d turn him down. I tell her, but it takes so much courage for a boy to ask and wouldn’t you have fun with your friends anyway? But you know, maybe it just isn’t worth the expense. And maybe turning men down is a good skill to have too. And I guess the winter dance was nearly the same experience except girls ask the guys rather than the other way around. Although I think she could ask someone to prom and it would be okay.

    @Julie. Yes, prom is much more expensive now. But maybe it is more of a rural town vs. big city thing. Perhaps proms in EGF still cost at least half of what they do here. The theme of Prom our junior year was “Never Say Goodbye,” right? I think that is something I remember. Do you remember the theme of our senior prom? Was it “I had the time of my life?” If so, oh the irony. Anyway, you started dating Bernie out of it and he was a good boyfriend and still a good friend, so I guess prom worked out okay for you. Still, I had more fun at our cast parties. Those I remember!

Leave a Reply

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creative Writing Ideas And Writing Prompts

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Josep Goded

Seeking Truth

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

ndquarterly.wordpress.com/

North Dakota Quarterly

Creative Talents Unleashed

"Unleash your creative talents and share them with the world!" ~ Raja's Insight

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

For What They're Worth

Thoughts on life, past and present. Good for me to write. May they also be good for you to read.

Finding Our Way Home

A Spiritual Journey Into Earth Community

Logical Quotes

Mothering the Best I Can Today

