I Just Have to Let it Go

(I wrote this two nights ago, but we lost power until around 2:00 am and so, I was not able to post this–just getting back to it now).

Two years ago on the evening of September 10th, I was on the phone with my midwife, trying to figure out the latest strange health issue with my pregnancy. She decided that I didn’t need to come in that night, but should come in the next morning. At 6:00 a.m., my mucous plug came out and I began to have contractions (although I didn’t think it was real labor until about 12:00 pm–the midwife had even seen me that morning and sent me home). Anyway, I guess it was just pre-labor stuff happening on the night of the 10th. Josh has been with us now for 2 years. I didn’t know two years ago the path that was in front of us. I am sure it is better that way (that we can’t see the path ahead).

I am currently in a 10 week yoga teacher training. I feel exhausted today and yet more emotionally open than I’ve been for two years. I think I’ve just been holding my breath, holding it together. It is sort of like a coma–induced to preserve all energy for healing. My waking coma was perhaps self-induced, to preserve all energy to focusing on Josh’s various health issues/mysteries. Anyway, I admitted to myself this week that I have a special needs child and I cried rather deeply about this matter for really the first time. I think that people think “well, you just slap hearing aids on him and he is just like a regular kid.” Ha, if only it were that easy. Don’t get me wrong; Josh is so very wonderful and this is my journey. But it isn’t an easy journey by any means.

We ended our day today in a yoga circle, offering up a word of gratitude. I said I was grateful for my special needs child who turns two tomorrow (I said it aloud in a group) and my husband for taking care of him every weekend for the next 10 weeks so that I could get this break.  After we closed, three women came up to me (I recognized two as yoga instructors that I’ve had in the past) and told me they all had special needs children. One woman embraced me and said she would pray for me. I started weeping.

On my way home, I realized that Chris and I have largely tried to carry the mystery, fear, and sadness about the “Josh Syndrome” all on our own. We really haven’t reached outward for help and thus, Josh does not have a richness of a community supporting him. In our previous lives, Chris and I were both very self-sufficient, perhaps to an extreme. For various reasons, this thing with Josh has gotten us both separately down on our knees this past week. We didn’t even know it–just compared notes later. What else could do this but a loving little guy who places both hope and fear of the unknown future before us everyday. And we must, somehow, learn to live more fully here in this uncomfortable place. That, in all truth, is what you do in yoga; learn to be in the uncomfortable places, watching how they come and go.

There is something about a birthday marker to sort of get you thinking. For Chris and I, we both realized that it is time for us to begin to live again. To truly accept and find the new normal. To invite others onto our path. To reach out for help. To build up a broader network of support both for Josh and for ourselves. Josh’s life is a miracle and I breathe in and let it now unfold as it will. I am so grateful that Chris is on this path with me. I cannot imagine being here without him. Even without (much) yoga, Chris has somehow achieved an equanimous existence. He was raised by some rather fantastic, loving, supportive parents–so I am sure that goes a long way towards making such a stable, even presence. His mother still prays wisdom for Chris everyday. How many people have that going for them? I’d venture a very very precious few (Helen–if you read this, I do love you so–you raised an amazing son).

(Back to present tense–late Monday night). Yesterday we closed our yoga practice in the dark with all 100 sweaty people in that room holding hands and singing to John Lennon’s “Watching the Wheels” song (one of the first records I ever bought myself), all of us blasting out “I just have to let it go” at the top of our lungs. I burst out crying once again at that moment. It sounds touchy feely but it really was an amazing moment. I feel open again. My heart is open, towards myself and others. And now, I can look down at Josh, just as I did on that first night in the hospital, and say “you are the most perfect little guy ever.”

2 comments
  1. I love this. It reminds me of Rachel Coleman’s “Good But Hard” article. Things can be hard, scary, and overwhelming at times. But the most perfect, awesome joy comes from watching these little guys grow.

  2. What a precious gift you have been given in Josh…he is the most perfect little guy ever.

Leave a Reply

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creative Writing Ideas And Writing Prompts

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Josep Goded

Seeking Truth

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

ndquarterly.wordpress.com/

North Dakota Quarterly

Creative Talents Unleashed

"Unleash your creative talents and share them with the world!" ~ Raja's Insight

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

For What They're Worth

Thoughts on life, past and present. Good for me to write. May they also be good for you to read.

Finding Our Way Home

A Spiritual Journey Into Earth Community

Logical Quotes

Mothering the Best I Can Today

