Day 11 in Standoff: Me, 0 / Cold Virus, 11

Okay, is it normal to have bright yellow (really almost orange) snot coming out of your head? I went to a chakra clearing and detox session yesterday with Kaja Foat, of Foat Design. Kaja has my dream job (or, one of them). She owns a design studio with her twin sister (I don’t have even have a non-twin sister), overlooking the Mississippi River, where she and her sister create cool yoga garb out of recycled clothing and discarded fabrics. I am pretty sure that the chakra clearing didn’t work, because an elemental part of chakra clearing is breathing through your nose, which isn’t happening for me these days. Anytime I did try to breath through my nose, I just grossed out the women around me (I am sure) with the rattling of mucous pinging off the insides of my nostrils, as well as the back of my throat. Yes, I was THAT woman (the why-the-heck-didn’t-you-stay-at-home-instead-of-brining-your-germs-to-share-woman). And to top it off, Kaja had us come into Ustrasana, my least favorite pose. But folks, other than doing the bare necessities, such as getting Josh to and from school and buying some minimal fresh produce to combine with my pantry stores, I haven’t been out in well over two weeks. Unless you count our trip to the ER. I’ve had the same seven dollars in my wallet for the past two weeks. Indeed, a sad sign. But I did purchase I jaunty little winter cap yesterday, that Kaja designed out of an old sweater. I kind of love my new hat. I am a hat girl, afterall.

So the chakra clearing didn’t really help me (at least, not in the immediate sense), but I learned that Kaja was on the 10th day of her cold yesterday too. I guess misery loves company–or at least likes to know others are dealing with this same long-lasting cold. Cause, I’ve almost given in over the past few days and gone to an MD in search of antibiotics. Today, I tried to return to a regular yoga class (first time in two weeks–although I co-taught a class one week ago, I forgot about that–part of my mentoring program). Spent much of the time in child’s pose with my forehead rocking back and forth, forward and back, into my towel to ease the sinus pain involved in having my head lower than my heart. I never realized before just how painful Down Dog can be when you have a cold. Whew! I also spent much time blowing my nose. At one time, I found some snot had leaked off of one of my graveyard of facial tissues and onto the floor. Oh gross. I was THAT woman AGAIN.  Then I sat in a steam room for ten minutes. And it was after the steam room when I started blowing out the fluorescent yellow/orange mucous. And for the remainder of the day, I’ve felt perhaps more miserable than I’ve felt in days. Just hoping this weird development is some sort of turning point and I am going to wake up feeling a small bit better tomorrow. Come on white blood cells, time to do your thing.

2 comments
  1. Sarah said:

    Oh dear, you really are sick. Perhaps you should consider going to an M.D. (or a D.O.?). I had walking pneumonia 4 years ago and was sick for two weeks before going to a doctor. It was miserable. It took 3 days on antibiotics to feel a little bit normal. I’m definitely not a fan of antibiotics, but I was grateful for them that time.

  2. I too have this same cold, and am on day 11. My snot is green, sometimes yellow. I cannot believe how much mucus one persons sinuses can create. I’ve gone through at least 5 boxes of tissues and countless napkins and rolls of toilet paper. I recently got some antibiotics from my doctor and so far had very little relief. I feel your pain and wish you all the best. Each day I wake up (after a sleepless night of dry mouth because I have to sleep with it open to breath!!) thinking today is the day I will feel better and so far nope. Not today. It is pure H.E.L.L. .

Leave a Reply

Reclaiming Beautiful

Reclaiming the beauty in anything and everything

thatgirlArlene

| Fashion ⚫️ Travel ⚫️ Beauty |

Marauder

Literary Journal

the roll top desk

daily prompts and activities for writers, writing teachers, and students

Weird City

a literary magazine

Lightning Droplets

Little flecks of inspiration and creativity

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

Veracious Poet

~ Self Realization

Sara in LaLaLand

Welcome to my world.

Panida

Life & Endometriosis

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creating a Collaborative Anthology

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

