I Said I’d Never Do It, But I Did

I love books. Not just reading books, but the physicality, the sensation of touching the pages; the sound they make when the pages turn. Coming from the publishing industry, I am fascinated by font types and page layouts; the use of white space, the position of page numbers. I obsess over great book covers. I recently purchased a paperback of C.S. Lewis’s Out of the Silent Planet, dated 1965.

I remembered enjoying this book (the whole Lewis space trilogy really) when I was a tween. But now, seeing that mid-century book cover–the greens, the outlandish space bubbles–the type set and position of the title. It brought me back to my childhood. It was a visitor from afar. And heck yeah, I bought that book to put on my shelf. I love books. And if I hoard anything in this life, it would be books. Although I will sometimes go through a “clean out” phase and release books back to the used-book world. It’s all good as I usually purchase my books from the used book world. Sort of like breathing, take in–send out. So, I’ll never be on an episode of Hoarders, or whatever that show is called.

And I said I’d never read a book in an e-form. It wasn’t for me. I was sticking with the real deal–printed words on paper, surrounded by a lovely cover.

But then, in recent years, I’d see people on airplanes, with a whole library on their iPad or Nook and I’d be stuck with the one book that I chose to bring. And maybe I wasn’t feeling like a self-help book that particular day. And then I got an iPad for my birthday, mostly to organize playlists for teaching yoga. And my brother bought me an iTunes gift card and I thought, well, “why not just one.” And so I just did it. I read my first book on the iPad–Cheryl Strayed’s Wild. I actually liked some aspects of the experience. I liked that I could read in bed without the lights on; I liked that this thin tablet fit so easily in one hand; I liked how I could highlight passages without having a pen or highlighter near by. And now I can go back and easily find a list of the passages I highlighted and, with the touch of a finger, find myself right at that page in the book.

And so, here I am, at one passage that describes the point of the long-distance hiker–so similar to meditation I suppose and that is why I am drawn to books about people who go into the wild, especially those who go alone. While Cheryl Strayed, just two years older than myself, was out on the trail, I was at home with a two year old and newborn and my first job post-law school as a law clerk for a district court judge in northern Minnesota, making a solitary study (my own solo journey I suppose) for the Minnesota bar exam, which I took while Cheryl was still on the trail–probably around the time she reached Oregon, during her solo hike of the Pacific Crest Trail. She said of this journey:

It had nothing to do with gear or footwear or the backpacking fads or philosophies of any particular era or even with getting from point A to point B. * * * It had only to do with how it felt to be in the wild. With what it was like to walk for miles for no reason other than to witness the accumulation of trees and meadows, mountains and deserts, streams and rocks, rivers and grasses, sunrises and sunsets. The experience was powerful and fundamental. It seemed to me that it had always felt like this to be a human in the wild, and as long as the wild existed it would always feel this way.

p. 254.

I devoured this book by Cheryl Strayed. In part, because I identify with so many pieces of her story. There are parts of her life that I can only imagine; that do not mirror my own. But the parts that did, drew me down into a deep reservoir of truth that only nonfiction can bring me to. All the more powerful because she is so much my contemporary and her story starts out in places in Minnesota that I know so well.  I kept thinking, as Cheryl mailed books to herself along the trail and burned them as she read them so she’d have less to carry, she wouldn’t have to do this if she’d had an eReader back in 1995. I suppose they even have solar rechargers for eReaders now. With electronic compasses and maps, I suppose the entire era of backpacking gear has already changed dramatically since 1995.

I don’t believe that I will become a committed e-reader. Heck, I just bought a new parenting book at a bookstore yesterday–the title uses the words “Love and Logic.” I still love physical books; will always love physical books–I know this to be true. But I do believe I will build up a small library of e-books–perhaps books whose covers I don’t particularly care for–on my iPad.

As far as aspects of the experience that I didn’t like goes, here is a list: I didn’t like how sometimes the pages would turn sideways on me at the slightest tilting of the iPad. I didn’t like that I couldn’t easily flip to the back of the book to see a picture or bio of the author (especially important with nonfiction I think). I know I could find this with only a few steps through the electronic table of contents, but it is not the same as flipping to it. I wasn’t thrilled with the fact that my reading device represents games to Josh and whenever he’d see me reading it would send the “I want the iPad” light off in his head (I suppose my Love and Logic book will help me address this issue). And I do not like how this book, Wild, became my friend, as good books will do, and now I do not have it sitting on the shelf with the rest of my friends. This is much how I felt about the missing CD case in my collection of musical friends when I started purchasing albums on iTunes. Maybe I’ll get over this, as I seem to have done with the missing CD case–although not quite. I recently purchased the new Lumineers album on iTunes. I love the album thoroughly from cover to cover. And I am actually sort of thinking about buying the physical CD. Crazy I know. Sometimes you do crazy things. Sometimes you do things you never thought you’d do.

Leave a Reply

Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

Our Retirement Travel Awesomeness

about CHANCE

365 days of embracing the unknown... because frankly the know-it-all approach is exhausting.

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Empty Nest Man

It's Time to Reinvent Yourself.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

poempost

Poems & Essays by Christine Kouwenhoven

Emmanuel's Light

www.emmanuelslight.com

FYI Divorce

Family law and the court system is complicated, get your divorce questions answered by a straight shooter. Topics covered include: The Truth About Attorneys, Divorce Emotions, Types of Divorces, Domestic Violence and more. There are too many biased resources out there, start reading FYIDivorce.com for the real life inside scoop before you file for divorce, during your divorce and after your divorce.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Writer To Writers

Creative Writing Ideas And Writing Prompts

susan d abello

Painting pictures with words, sharing vignettes of a colorful life.

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

Another Good Dog

Our adventures as a foster dog family

SCTCC Tiny House Project

Go tiny, and go home!

Blog about Mexico's Must Have Seen

Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cenotes, Sian Ka'an, Cozumel, Bacalar, Mahahual, Monterrey...

Suzanne Strempek Shea

Writing, Art, Animals, Earth

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

rae pagliarulo

: writer : editor :

Agate

Wonders of the Near North

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

Storm Cellar

A literary journal of safety and danger

Iris Graville

Writer. Book artist. Quaker. Believes everyone has a story to tell.

WroteTrips™

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” - Mary Schmich

TheFeatheredSleep

Tigers not daughters

Publishing Advisors

The Way Forward

HunterGame1216

#love #peace #ppl #happiness #hardwork #paidsoff

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Funky Little Chair

Dedicated to the preservation of top-quality upholstery education and services.

This Tiny Blue House

Frugal lifestyle & Parenting Blog

Helen Jones

lives in Uppsala

Jungo Books

Just another WordPress.com site

katehopper.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Josep Goded

Seeking Truth

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

ndquarterly.wordpress.com/

North Dakota Quarterly

Creative Talents Unleashed

"Unleash your creative talents and share them with the world!" ~ Raja's Insight

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

For What They're Worth

Thoughts on life, past and present. Good for me to write. May they also be good for you to read.

Finding Our Way Home

A Spiritual Journey Into Earth Community

Logical Quotes

Mothering the Best I Can Today

